You are here

Pacific Montessori Society

The Pacific Montessori Society (PMS) is a non-profit society officially registered with the provincial government and registered with the federal government as a charitable organization.  A copy of the Society’s constitution and bylaws is filed with the Registrar of Companies. The Society was founded in 1980. All parents in good standing are members of the PMS. In accordance with the Societies Act, the Board of Directors of the Society is elected at the annual general meeting, and serves without any remuneration. Terms are for three years and members of the PMS are eligible to run for office.


Pictured: Artist and school parent Art Thompson and Karen L. Colussi, one of the founding parents and first administrator/principal of the Pacific Montessori Society School, now known as the Selkirk Montessori School.





2016-2017 Pacific Montessori Society Board Members


Andersen, Bjarke - Director

Software Developer, IBM


Birley, Linda - Secretary

Kumon Math & Reading


Fedoryshyn, Derek - Director

Department of National Defence, Government of Canada


Gillespie, Ian - Director



Perzoff, Lara - Director

Communications Manager/Sr. Public Affairs Officer


Stewart, Shawn - Repair & Maintenance Director

Staff Officer, DND


Twyford, Philip MBA, CMA – Chair

Executive Director, Government of British Columbia


Wood, Dina - Director

Senior Management, TELUS


Barner, Penny - Director

Administrative Head, Selkirk Montessori School



Erin Hayes, Academic Head, Selkirk Montessori School



Federation of Independent School Association       

Better Business Bureau of Victoria